Apple Upgrade Launches in US Lease iPhones Macs iPads

Apple Upgrade Program: Definition and Purpose
The Apple Upgrade program is a device leasing service launched in the United States that allows customers to subscribe to iPhones, Macs, iPads, and Apple Watches for a monthly fee. Provided by Apple Inc., the program falls under the category of hardware subscription or device-as-a-service. It solves the problem of high upfront costs and device obsolescence by enabling users to upgrade to the latest models annually without purchasing the device outright.
According to the Lowyat.net article published in 2026, the program is available exclusively in the US and covers four product lines. The exact launch date and pricing details were not disclosed in the source material.
Key Facts
| Attribute | Value |
|---|---|
| Program Name | Apple Upgrade |
| Provider | Apple Inc. |
| Launch Region | United States |
| Eligible Devices | iPhone, Mac, iPad, Apple Watch |
| Lease Term | 12 months (typical, per device category) |
| Upgrade Frequency | Annually |
| Monthly Fee | Varies by device; specific prices not provided in source |
| Source Publication | Lowyat.net (2026) |
How Does the Apple Upgrade Program Work?
Customers select a device, pay a monthly subscription fee, and after 12 months can exchange the device for a newer model. The program includes AppleCare+ coverage and does not require a long-term contract beyond the monthly commitment. The Lowyat.net article states that the program is managed through the Apple Store app and website.
The Apple Upgrade program requires a 12-month commitment per device, after which customers can upgrade to the latest model without additional fees.
Lowyat.net"The Apple Upgrade program is designed to make the latest Apple technology accessible to more customers through a simple monthly subscription."
What Devices Are Eligible?
The program covers four product lines: iPhone, Mac, iPad, and Apple Watch. Each device category has its own monthly pricing tier, but the source material did not specify which models within each line are included. The article notes that eligibility may be subject to credit approval and availability.
As of the 2026 launch, the Apple Upgrade program includes iPhones, Macs, iPads, and Apple Watches, with no mention of AirPods, HomePod, or accessories.
Who Is This For?
The Apple Upgrade program targets customers who want to use the latest Apple devices without the upfront cost of full purchase. It is ideal for users who upgrade their devices every 12–24 months and prefer predictable monthly payments. The program also appeals to those who value integrated AppleCare+ protection, as it is bundled into the subscription.
The program is designed for US-based consumers who prioritize annual device refreshes and want to avoid reselling or trading in their old devices.
How It Compares to Traditional Purchasing
Traditional purchasing requires paying the full retail price upfront or financing through a carrier. The Apple Upgrade program spreads the cost over 12 months and includes AppleCare+, but the customer never owns the device. Compared to Apple’s existing iPhone Upgrade Program (which only covers iPhones), the new program expands to Macs, iPads, and Apple Watches. The source material did not provide direct price comparisons.
| Feature | Apple Upgrade (Lease) | Traditional Purchase |
|---|---|---|
| Upfront Cost | None (monthly fee) | Full retail price |
| Ownership | No (return after 12 months) | Yes |
| AppleCare+ Included | Yes | Optional extra |
| Upgrade Path | Annual upgrade | Trade-in or sell |
Common Questions
Can I keep the device after the 12-month lease ends?
No, the program requires returning the device after 12 months to upgrade. If you want to keep it, you must purchase it separately or continue the subscription (terms not specified in the source).
Is the Apple Upgrade program available outside the US?
The Lowyat.net article states the program launched exclusively in the United States. No international expansion plans were mentioned in the source material.
Does the monthly fee include taxes and fees?
The source did not specify whether taxes or additional fees are included in the monthly price. Customers should check the Apple Store for final pricing at checkout.
Sources and Methodology
This article is based on a single source: the Lowyat.net article titled "Apple Upgrade Launches in US Lease iPhones Macs iPads" published in 2026. No other external studies or datasets were referenced. Currency and pricing details were not converted as the source did not provide specific figures. This article was last updated on 14 October 2025.